Ikenna Igwe

Ikenna Igwe is an award-winning writer of fiction and nonfiction books. A Quantity Surveyor by training, he also holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Education. His written and published works include: In The Arms Of Midnight, The Tenants, Thoughts & Verses, Quantitative Reasoning with Vocational Studies for Primary Schools, Books 1-6, and Verbal Reasoning with General Knowledge for Primary Schools, Books 1-6. Furthermore, his poems have been featured on literary websites, such as Kalahari Review, Poetry Potion, Words, Rhymes and Rhythms, and Okadabooks, and have also been published, in various anthologies, by Forward Poetry. He lives in Lagos, where he is currently working on a new book.

Books by Ikenna Igwe

the judas web

The Judas Web is a thought-provoking play that examines some of the ills that have bedeviled Nigeria – and, in extension, Africa – for many decades. With a setting rooted primarily in the early years of Nigeria’s present republic, this literary piece adroitly captures, in fiction, a few relevant characters that – through repeated abuse of their various positions of power – are the perpetrators of these evils...to the detriment of the Nigerian people. Sadly, these perfidious and power-drunk individuals, who are the real enemies of State, are utterly blinded by their cupidity for wealth. But their golden empires soon crumbles, as the operatives of an ideal Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) finally bring them to deserved justice.

in the arms of midnight

Murder, mystery, and magic mingle in this brilliantly accomplished debut collection, of ten thrilling stories, which explores far-reaching issues – family, love, death, and sexuality – that remarkably shape our quotidian lives. In “The Nigerian Gigolo,” a male prostitute, wrongly found guilty of viciously killing a wealthy woman, is sentenced to death by hanging. In “The Interview,” seven successful job applicants are transported mysteriously to an ancient chamber where they are the objects of sacrifice in a bizarre and brutal ritual. In “A Different Kind of Love,” a family tragedy puts a loving daughter and her caring father in an unnatural situation, in which, for one of them to live, the other has to die. In “Destination Death,” several fresh graduates, posted to a state in northern Nigeria, for their NYSC programme, are murdered by a terrorist group. And, in the title story, a young and impressionable girl throws caution to the wind and marries her dream man who turns out to be a sexual deviant. IN THE ARMS OF MIDNIGHT is rich in flesh and blood characters that will stay with readers long after they have finished the book.


Loading the next 20 Records..…